come true

29Jan10

I had a recurring dream for years before moving to Seattle.  It was discovering, to my great surprise, that I had mountains right in my backyard.  If I just walked the right direction, across the right field, and down some hilly wooded paths, the foot of a mountain would appear in front of me.  I would scale it and look over into a breathtaking valley where snowy-sided mountains stretched out into the distance.  I don’t have the dream any more, maybe because it happens to me here!  In the winter, the Cascades and Olympics are a peek-a-boo affair.  On days like today, their unlikely mass, high contrast with white snow and deep gray rock, appear to be right on top of me, and I gasp at their perceived nearness.

(image: Paul Pitcher)

2 Responses to “come true”

  1. Sounds lovely!

  2. 2 jillia pessenda

    …why i moved to the pacific nw.


Leave a Reply

