*

04Mar10

^Kiki Smith: Deer Things 2006-2008 via^

Drawing is a primary tool for me.  I use it like I use words, to sort things out, but for different sorts of problems.  I use it like stretching out my neck at the end of a long day.  I use it like dancing.  An internal movement, translated roughly, speaks through the limbs, and extends through the drawn line.  An internal abstraction is lengthened out through symbol.  A picture says, “Aha!” and an itch is scratched.  It’s not always drawing that answers.  Sometimes it’s a sound, and sometimes a group of ordinary objects.  Often, it is made by another person.  “Aha!”

Tomorrow, I’m going to see Kiki Smith speak.  Her drawings are scratchy-patched-together things… elegantly awkward, animistic, wrinkled and honed.

2 Responses to “*”

  1. Beautiful words!

    I’ll be at the Kiki lecture too…I hope to see you there! (so excited!!)

  2. I hope people take some awesome notes… I really wish I could be there. 😦

    Gala, your words about drawing speak volumes. I feel exactly the same way, but I’m like a blind person learning to see. I love your writing, please don’t ever stop! 🙂


Leave a Reply

