why the short posts?

17Mar10

I was alerted yesterday that I’ve been treating the blog like a tumblr page, and I concur.  Why?  My hands are set to production mode, and when I get a chance to slow down, I’m much more likely to input vs. output.  So reading East of Eden (so wildly good to read fantastic fiction again!) or browsing art sites fits the bill to replenish what is going out.  What’s going out?

Well…

1) A show at Catherine Person Gallery (the site still reads May 20th, but the opening is actually April 1st; it’ll be updated soon enough) with painter Colleen Hayward and sculptors Renee Zettle-Sterling and Heidi Schwegler..  I’ll have brand new work there, and work that hasn’t been shown in Seattle.

^Heidi Schwegler leave when I ask silver plated dish, spoon, wax, hanky 14 x 14 x 3″ 2009 photographer: Bill Bachhuber^

2) A collaboration for Strange Coupling with Nuala Ni Fhlathuin, who inspires me with her Giovanni Anselmo-like sensibility, where the is-ness of objects eclipses representation (the place where I usually camp out).  It’s been a thoroughly enjoyable collaboration.  That opening is also on April 1st, but goes until 11pm at Ouch my Eye.

^Ni Fhlathuin^

3) And this exhibit at Ohge Ltd, which also opens on the 1st, but with a later span than most spaces (6-10pm):

I swear this is no April fooling.  Hope to see some of you Seattlites!

3 Responses to “why the short posts?”

  1. I have been tempted to read East of Eden I don’t know how many times and yet it sits there on my shelf. Is it a good read?

  2. 2 gala bent

    i can’t tell you how much i love it. i read the first 40 pages and couldn’t believe where steinbeck had already taken me. it makes me almost want to vow to only read classics! it’s just a beautifully written epic tale of families and personalities alongside the history of america. i’m looking forward to jumping back in after this nutty couple weeks!

  3. Wow, well that’s a stellar review! How can I resist it now?! Thanks for your bloggy-blips, I, for one, find much to mine in them, and they fit well within the shape of my blippity mind, carving out new spaces and traversing over foreign but lovely terrains.

    Blessed Easter to you!


Leave a Reply

