oh my zeitgeist.

09Apr10

Some of my drawings were posted a few months back on booooooom, and someone commented that they’d been seeing a lot of “these hair illustrations.”

“What?” I asked innocently, “What hair illustrations?”

Since then, my field of vision has been inundated with the stuff from every direction.  Just a couple examples: from boooooom, again, and then flavorpill. Sheesh. Nothing like channeling the zeitgeist, huh? I mean, it’s even called “trend watch” on the latter specimen. So what is going on? What are we trying to spell out with these hairy twists and disembodied tresses?

So maybe it is a trend… but I can think of a line of influences that date much further back. How about this short time line of hair:


Albrecht Durer (1471 – 1528) Portrait of a Young Furleger with Loose Hair

Gustav Klimt Mermaids 1899

Meret Oppenheim Breakfast in Fur 1936


Frida Kahlo Self Portrait with Cropped Hair 1940


Jim Dine Braid 1973

Ann Hamilton Tropos 1993

Sonia Boyce Black Female Hairstyles 1995

Lin Tianmiao, Braiding 1998

Mona Hatoum Traffic 2002

Pop Culture? Cousin Itt. Fur. Where the Wild Things Are


2 Responses to “oh my zeitgeist.”

  1. 1 Tom

    This post was very entertaining. Keep drawing your hairy, intertwining drawings. Trends are for people who talk about trends.

  2. Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! I don’t quite know what’s going on either but I’m certainly tapped in and all about it. Everything I’ve been doing for the last five months is around hair, fur, scales, etc. The Zeitgeist almost literally pushed me into the Redmond Half Price Books a couple of months ago when I was researching this piece, Rapunzel , and there was this really incredible book that I’ve been meaning to share with you (I’ve showed Katy S) called quite simply, “Hair”, by Wendy Cooper. It was meant to be.


Leave a Reply

