it was just a dream some of us had

23Aug10

Aimee Brodeur Galaxy, Part 1
Installation 2009
Poly fiber, spray paint, acrylic spray, glitter, mirror,lights 43″x57″

Been thinking, without having the words quite yet, about the swing back and forth in art (of all sorts) between illusion and, for lack of a better phrase, honesty of material. Some people build up extra extra layers, and others seem to be employed in whittling the excess back. I probably find myself in the former category more often, but hunger for the latter. It’s similar to the way that I love simple, elegant interiors, yet gather and gather visual stimulus into more clutter than I prefer.

I know it’s an incorrect usage of the word, but I like to think of the whittlers as essentialists; people like…

Wolfgang Laib, whose monk-like use of single elements like milk or pollen polish the world down to a low hum.

Addendum: I placed that Aimee Brodeur image at the head, because I love the illusion she achieves with the most unexpected materials. Poly fiber, spray paint, acrylic spray, glitter, mirror and lights become the Hubble telescope’s inconceivable images of cloudy galaxies.

2 Responses to “it was just a dream some of us had”

  1. Gala, the Galaxy piece reminds me of many of the paintings I’ve been creating lately. I’ve become really passionate about building up layers of black gesso, then painting bits of light oils over it. I love the glowing effect. I always appreciate the art you share here!

  2. 2 gala

    you go, bree!


Leave a Reply

